Show me your leader

An now for some flyfishing talk,

Yes I know. I’m a geek when it comes to leaders. Basically the commercial tapered leaders sucks. Big time. They are too short, far too thick in butt, and by far too stiff.  As everyone has learned in kindergarten it’s the mass in the line that transfers energy. The stiffer the line, the more it will resist turnover. So to build a good leader you need as soft and subtle mono as possible. A furled type leader is soft enough, but has its own disadvantages.

So what is the solution? This is a rhetorical question since the Answer is to build my own leaders. I have done this over the years, and found the ones that suits my fishing and not-so-perfect casting. I don’t claim this to suit you, but feel free to try J

The setup is simple, a butt and middle part of some el-cheapo mono, currently Suffix Elite Camo. A non-knot loop towards the flyline, and a mini-ring in the end of mid-part for tip.

Here are my all my leaders that I carry with me. I could do with I, IV and V only:

Pre-made

Butt(60%)

Mid (20%)

Tot length [feet]  diam [mm] length [m]  diam [mm] length [m] Ring, diam [mm] diam [mm] length [m] Usage
I

16

0,50

2,88

0,35

0,96

1,50

0,25-0,20

1 – 2

Dry fly, L salmon

0,16

  1 – 2 Dry fly, trout
II

12

0,45

2,16

0,30

0,72

0,16 – 0,14

1 – 2

Dry fly L, trout
II

16

0,45

2,88

0,30

0,96

0,16

1 – 2

Dry fly, L trout
IV

12

0,40

2,16

0,25

0,72

0,12

1

Dry fly, UL  trout
i I

9

0,35

1,62

0,25

0,54

0,12

1

Dry fly, UUL  #1-2 trout
i II

9

0,50

1,62

0,35

0,54

0,16

2 – 5

Nymp + indicator

________

V

12

0,50

2,88

0,40

0,72

0,20 – 0,25

1-2

Large dries (SC), Kola, Pocket-water salmon riwers.

0,16

2 – 4

Nymph

3 Responses to “Show me your leader”

  1. grunde Says:

    Good post Alf!

    We agree 100%, it’s the mass of the leader which matters for turnover. And stiff leaders sucks! This is why furled and braided leaders (still) have some followers.

    It’s also good to see that you are not using a ridiculous amount of knots/sections in your leaders. It’s quite OK to go from 0.50mm through 0.35mm to 0.25mm -> leader ring -> tippet 😀

    Some comment/questions.

    You say that you attach your leaders using a non-knot loop, more details please 😉 Since I’ve not found any loop system I like, I’m back on the good old nail knot…

    I will say that the system you are using is quite close to the “Borger leader system” (which I’m using and like allot) published in Presentation back in 1995? Any comments? And do you really carry all these premade leaders? One of the nice things about using the Borger leader system is “easy reconfiguration” of your leader on site…

    You are using Sufix Elite Camo for the butt sections of your leaders, how does is measure against other “softish” thick mono? I’m using Stroft GMT which I like, but softer is better so I’m looking for even softer mono. (Any pointer to where to get it cheepish is also most welcome ;-))

    I also wonder if you have tried to soften thick mono by boiling it in soap water? This is a trick I’ve used on tick stiff mono (amnesia) to make it usable for leader butts, this summer I’ll try doing this with my fishing leaders to 🙂

    Cheers,
    Grunde

  2. Thanks Grunde,

    For the flyline I use the welding technique with shrimping tubes (I blive this can be found elsewhere). For the leader I form a loop at end and twirl some very thin mono around. I use the flytying thread holder for this, so that its possible to swing it around the loop (sorry if the grammar is incorrect :-). Finally I secure with whipfinisher and puts some superglue to secure. This makes a neat loop.

  3. Answer #2.
    Yes, for me its a bit strange to have a lot of small pices of different thickness when I can do with only 3 pieces. The most challenging is from mid to tippet. The transfer from 0,35 to 0,16 can be a bit difficult, that why I sometimes use a short pice of 0,25, and then 0,16.

    I am embarresed to say that I dont know the Borger system. Will try to read more….

    I havent tried to soften mono. Im a bit…reluctant about boiling mono, but perhaps I should be?

    Its hard to find really soft mono. I have just started using the Suffix Camo. First impressions are good, but lets wait and see. The Suffix Elite Bronze is alos veru soft. If you need a few meter of the Camo tfor testing just drop me a note and you adress. Before this I used the el-cheapo Biltema mono. That was really great in term of softness, but the coulor was more white that transparent.

Leave a comment